Centre for Maritime Safety


Email Facebook
Print the page

NSW Maritime Medal


The NSW Maritime Medal is awarded for outstanding and sustained contributions by individuals or organisations to the maritime community in NSW. The award presents the opportunity to highlight the importance of safe and responsible boating practices, and encourage safe boating participation in communities across NSW.  

The NSW Maritime Medal is awarded every two years by the Minister and was created by the Maritime Advisory Council in 2006 as a way of celebrating the efforts and commitment of people that have made an outstanding and sustained contribution to the boating community. The Medal was last awarded in 2019.

The nomination process is managed by the Centre for Maritime Safety at Transport for NSW (TfNSW), with the Maritime Medal Selection Committee comprising of Maritime Advisory Council members as well as TfNSW representatives.

In 2019, Colin McQueen was awarded the Maritime Medal in recognition of the many selfless contributions he has made in promoting safe boating, encouraging participation and looking after our marine environments.

View more information about Maritime Medal recipients here.

Nomination Process and Eligibility – 2021 NSW Maritime Medal

The NSW Maritime Medal will be awarded again in July/August 2021 during the Sydney Festival of Boating event.

Eligible nominees can be either a person or group, and should be able to demonstrate an outstanding and sustained effort or contribution to improve the safety or marine environment for the benefit of the boating or maritime community in NSW. 

All nominations are to be submitted via email (only) and nominations will be open from 1–11 June 2021.

To submit your nomination:

  1. Download and fill out the ‘Maritime Medal Nomination Form
  2. Return via email to maritime@transport.nsw.gov.au and include ‘NSW Maritime Medal – 2021 Nomination’ as the subject
  3. Return your nomination by the closing date (11 June).