Centre for Maritime Safety


Email Facebook
Print the page

NSW Maritime Medallists

An award recognising outstanding and sustained contributions to the boating and maritime community by individuals or organisations.

Image: 2019 NSW Maritime Medal recipient Colin McQueen.

NSW Maritime Medallist for 2019

Colin McQueen was the recipient of the 2019 NSW Maritime Medal. This award recognises the selfless contributions Colin has made in promoting safe boating, encouraging participation and looking after our marine environments.

Colin has been a devoted volunteer with the State Emergency Service, the SES, for over 40 years. He has dedicated his time to training SES search and rescue staff and volunteers to be on-water flood rescue boat operators. He has also spent this time assessing them to be masters of the eight different types of boats the SES have in their fleet.

As part of his volunteer work with SES, Colin undertakes search and rescue operations for missing persons and also supports the recovery of deceased persons on NSW waterways. Colin devotes his time to support key community maritime events such as the Hawkesbury Canoe Classic and Clean Up Australia Day as well as a range of events on Sydney Harbour.

In addition to delivering training for the SES, Colin leads mentoring programs and is also training SES staff to be trainers so they can teach the next generation of staff and volunteers to operate the SES fleet.

Image: 2019 NSW Maritime Medal recipient Colin McQueen.


(L-R) 2017 NSW Maritime Medal recipient Mike Jarvin (Community Medal), Minister for Roads, Maritime and Freight, Melinda Pavey

NSW Maritime Medalists for 2017

Mike Jarvin – Community Medal

Mike is recognised in the NSW boating community as a selfless and voluntary advocate, strategist and advisor for over 25 years. His outcome focussed efforts have been far-reaching through his consistent level of extraordinary dedication across all aspects in maritime. This includes recreational, commercial and maritime property activities, all focussed on delivering positive outcomes for the maritime community.

For over 25 years, Mike has also made outstanding and sustained contributions to the boating community through his mentoring of maritime start-ups from their inception. Bringing many decades of experience from his successful maritime businesses, Mike has provided invaluable advice, support and networking to bring the industry together.

Image: (L-R) 2017 NSW Maritime Medal recipient Mike Jarvin (Community Medal), Minister for Roads, Maritime and Freight, Melinda Pavey.

(L-R) Minister for Roads, Maritime and Freight, Melinda Pavey, 2017 NSW Maritime Medal recipient Chris Mitchell (Safety Medal)

Chris Mitchell – Safety Medal

Chris has directly driven outstanding advancements in universal inclusion and disabled accessibility in sailing on a global scale sustained for over 20 years. Chris has achieved this through specific vessel class and infrastructure designs, advocacy, mentoring and overall philanthropy.

There are now nearly 3000 of Chris’ boats in use in 32 countries globally with the designs allowing even severely disabled sailors to sail competitively against able-bodied counterparts. Chris also designed and built the first ventilated quad to sail solo using servo controls in 2000.

Image: (L-R) Minister for Roads, Maritime and Freight, Melinda Pavey, 2017 NSW Maritime Medal recipient Chris Mitchell (Safety Medal).

Recipients of NSW Maritime Medal

YearRecipient Category
2019Colin McQueenCommunity
2017Mike JarvinCommunity
2017Chris MitchellSafety
2015Captain Tim SwalesCommunity
2015David LyallCommunity
2015Peter HunterSafety
2014Clive WilsonSafety
2014Robert BashamCommunity
2014Greg McNeillEducation
2011Ballina Jet Boat Surf RescueCommunity
2011Peter PhillipsonCommunity
2011Rear Admiral (ret) Tony Hunt AOCommunity
2011Michael O’ConnorSafety
2010Alan LucasCommunity and Safety
2010Neil GrievesCommunity and Safety
2010George TeddsCommunity and Safety
2010Bob DyerCommunity, Safety & Environment
2010John WinningCommunity
2010Volunteers of the Sydney Heritage FleetCommunity
2010Broken Hill Speed Boat ClubCommunity
2009Bill JoselinCommunity
2009Andy MunnsCommunity
2009Ronald ThomsonCommunity
2009Commodore Michael StringerCommunity
2009John McCloskeyCommunity
2009Robert AlbertCommunity
2009John GaratyCommunity and  Environment
2009AVCP Squadron Commodore Bruce MitchellCommunity ,Safety & Environment
2009Kenneth FletcherSafety
2009Patricia FayersSafety
2009Norm George SmithSafety
2007/08Ron IsaacsCommunity
2007/08Paul HelmoreCommunity
2007/08David JohnstonCommunity
2007/08William Arthur DreckmeyerSafety
2007/08Norman Muir GrantSafety
2007/08Matthew O’GradyCommunity and Safety
2007/08Shoalhaven Marine Rescue AssocCommunity and Safety
2006Captain Ken EdwardsCommunity
2006Timothy HoneCommunity
2006Keith HorneCommunity
2006George NeilsonCommunity
2006Ronald YoungCommunity
2006David PescudCommunity
2006Ian KiernanEnvironment
2006Royal Volunteer Coastal Patrol
Ulladulla Division
2006Geoffrey SheltonSafety
2006Robert ToyerSafety
2006Stuart McKenzieSafety
2006Bob and Janet FosterSafety and Community
2006Robert GoodacreSafety and Community
2006Peter GoadbySafety, Community & Environment
2006Lady Wakehurst crewSafety, Community & Environment